Follow us on

facebook link

Altea Gallery on Twitter

to previous page

[A rare pre-Beck poster map of the London Underground]

image of UndergrounD Map of London. show larger image


STINGEMORE, Frederick H.
UndergrounD Map of London. London: Waterlow & Sons for London Underground, 1928. Colour lithograph. Sheet 605 x 750mm. Folds flattened, minor imprefections repaired.
An example of Stingemore's " Double Crown "poster map of London's Underground, as run by different companies, published five years before they merged and Beck's iconic map was introduced. The lines are laid out with an attempt at geographical accuracy, marking major roads and parkland. However the inclusion of some of the outer stations (such as Morden, Cockfosters and Barking) has meant the central area is quite compressed. On the map the High Barnet branch of the Northern Line ended at 'Highgate' (now Archway Station); there is no Circle Line; and the service between Earl's Court and Latimer Road, via 'Addison Road' (Kensington Olympia) and 'Uxbridge Road', is still open. The Piccadilly Line runs from Hammersmith to Finsbury Park. Among the 'lost' stations are 'Brompton Road' and 'Down Street' on the Piccadilly Line; 'Marlborough Road' on the Metropolitan Line; and 'Bishops Road' and 'Praed Street' are shown as parts of Paddington but still with their old names shown as the incorporation was due in 1933. Like Henry C. Beck, Frederick Stingemore (1890-1954) was an Underground employee, first as a draughtsman in the Publicity Manager's Office, then head of the Commercial Drawing Office until his death.
[Ref: 17045]    £4,000.00 ($5,120 • €4,392 rates)

enquire about this item