0
0 Item(s) Selected

No products in the cart.

Select Page

The planned redevelopment of Charing Cross

Stock No. 18494 Category: Tag: Cartographer: NASH, John.

Plan of the Proposed Improvements of Charing Cross, St Martin's Lane, and Entrance to the Strand.
London: Luke Hansard & Sons for the House of Commons, 1826. Original colour. Sheet 420 x 505mm.

£450

In stock

Another of John Nash's projects was the redevelopment of the Royal Mews, a stable block to the north of Charing Cross, made redundant by George IV's move to Buckingham Palace. Replacing them would be a new National Gallery of Painting and Sculpture, with a new home of the Royal Academy in the open space to the south. To the east the buildings around St Martin's in the Fields were to be cleared, with a new road (Duncannon Street) built through the churchyard. Underneath is a new home for the 'Golden Cross', a coaching inn first recorded in 1643, which was to be cleared. To the west were to be buildings for College of Physicians and Union Club, now Canada House.
The Charing Cross Act was passed and clearance began soon after this plan was published: only in 1838 was it decided to dedicate the area to Horatio Nelson, with the iconic column raised in 1843 and Trafalgar Square opened to the public in 1844.

Additional information

Dimensions 505 × 420 mm
Cartographer

Date

1826

Extra Info

Plan of the Proposed Improvements of Charing Cross, St Martin's Lane, and Entrance to the Strand.

Publication

London: Luke Hansard & Sons for the House of Commons, 1826. Original colour. Sheet 420 x 505mm.

Condition

A good example.

References