Stock Id :18494

Download Image

The planned redevelopment of Charing Cross

NASH, John.

Plan of the Proposed Improvements of Charing Cross, St Martin's Lane, and Entrance to the Strand.
London: Luke Hansard & Sons for the House of Commons, 1826. Original colour. Sheet 420 x 505mm.

Another of John Nash's projects was the redevelopment of the Royal Mews, a stable block to the north of Charing Cross, made redundant by George IV's move to Buckingham Palace. Replacing them would be a new National Gallery of Painting and Sculpture, with a new home of the Royal Academy in the open space to the south. To the east the buildings around St Martin's in the Fields were to be cleared, with a new road (Duncannon Street) built throught the churchyard. Underneath is a new home for the 'Golden Cross', a coaching inn first recorded in 1643, which was to be cleared. To the west were to be buildings for College of Physicians and Union Club, now Canada House.
The Charing Cross Act was passed and clearance began soon after this plan was published: only in 1838 was it decided to dedicate the area to Horatio Nelson, with the iconic column raised in 1843 and Trafalgar Square opened to the public in 1844.


Stock ID : 18494

£450

£450

Return To Listing

INDEX

Stock Id :18494

Download Image

The planned redevelopment of Charing Cross

NASH, John.

Plan of the Proposed Improvements of Charing Cross, St Martin's Lane, and Entrance to the Strand.
London: Luke Hansard & Sons for the House of Commons, 1826. Original colour. Sheet 420 x 505mm.

Another of John Nash's projects was the redevelopment of the Royal Mews, a stable block to the north of Charing Cross, made redundant by George IV's move to Buckingham Palace. Replacing them would be a new National Gallery of Painting and Sculpture, with a new home of the Royal Academy in the open space to the south. To the east the buildings around St Martin's in the Fields were to be cleared, with a new road (Duncannon Street) built throught the churchyard. Underneath is a new home for the 'Golden Cross', a coaching inn first recorded in 1643, which was to be cleared. To the west were to be buildings for College of Physicians and Union Club, now Canada House.
The Charing Cross Act was passed and clearance began soon after this plan was published: only in 1838 was it decided to dedicate the area to Horatio Nelson, with the iconic column raised in 1843 and Trafalgar Square opened to the public in 1844.


Stock ID : 18494

£450

£450

Return To Listing